19Feb13

As high school comes to an end and I begin the last semester here at Christ the King I am filled with many different emotions. Some of these emotions are welcomed with open arms but others I wish could be ignored and forgotten, unfortunately that isn’t possible. The emotions that are welcomed are the excitement of prom and graduating with my friends, which I have been envisioning for a long time. Also the anticipation of going off to university, where I’ll be able to be independent, meet new people and have the amazing university experience that everyone is always talking about. Being able to dream about what your life is going to be like and thinking of things you would like to accomplish has been a favorite past time of mine lately and will continue to be as this last semester begins. Also, having some direction and something to work towards to keep me motivated will help me throughout this semester I believe, and give me some satisfaction that my hard work will pay off in the long run. And lastly, no disrespect to high school but I wouldn’t exactly say that I’ve had the time of my life for the past four years, and I’m kind of looking forward to it being over. An emotion that isn’t welcome is the anxiousness of waiting for that first acceptance letter. I can see many sleepless nights to come this semester and my hope in being accepted is dwindling. Constantly thinking of whether I’ve made the right choice and whether what I have applied for is really what I want to do for the rest of my life hasn’t really made things any easier. The whole idea of university is really overwhelming and scary most if the time too. What if people don’t like me? What if I fail my classes? What if the “experience” isn’t all it’s cracked up to be? These are just some of the questions that never leave the back of my mind. The pressure to do well and the work load this semester aren’t pleasant things either, and I’m ALWAYS tired so getting work done can be challenging sometimes. Possibly the most overwhelming thing of all is that this is the time in people’s lives when you start determining who you are in life and what kind of person you are going to be, and finding the courage to do the things I think are right and be the person I want to be can be a battle. With all the ups and downs of this last semester, my goal is to spend as much time with my friends as possible and enjoy my last few months as a high school student.



No Responses Yet to “”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment