A cathartic experience

15Jun13

A significant experience in my life happened about a year ago. On June 10th, 2012, I was in a major car accident. I was driving myself and three of my friends home after a day of paintballing in Milton, and we were following my other friends brothers. We stopped at an intersection to turn left, and there was a car on the opposite side of the intersection turning left as well. After my friend’s brother made his turn, I peered around the car opposite to me and saw no oncoming traffic, and proceeded to make my turn. I don’t know if I didn’t look thoroughly enough, if I was distracted, or if the sun was in my eyes but the next thing I knew we were skidding off the road. We had been t-boned by an oncoming Cadillac. The moment that we were hit, the windows exploded and I was thrown to the left. My ears were ringing and I was disoriented but I had not been injured. My friend in the passenger seat and my friend on the driver’s side backseat sustained minor injuries, but my friend who was in the backseat on the passenger’s side had many pieces of glass in his face and was rushed to the hospital once the ambulance arrived. He was hospitalized for 4 days, and visiting him there was tough. This was definitely the scariest moment of my life and I will never forget it. The police determined that I was at fault for the accident and charged me with failure to make a legal left-hand turn. It could have been a lot worse because they could have charged me with reckless driving so I am very lucky for that. Looking at the damage done to my car afterwards it’s a miracle that we are all alive, and I believe that God put his hand on my car and saved us. This event changed my life because before it happened I was always skeptical of the existence of God. How could I believe in something when I had never seen any concrete proof of its existence? Well now I do have concrete proof, and I do have belief that there is a God. At the time it happened I felt pretty crappy and guilty but my friends were really supporting and understanding and helped me through it. It also made me feel very lucky to have the life and opportunities I have, and that I have such great friends. I feel like I’ve changed a lot after the accident. I noticed that right afterwards I was a lot more awkward and didn’t know what to say in social situations. A positive change that has come from it is that I think that I treat people with more kindness and respect. It’s also made me realize how important the people I love in my life are to me.



No Responses Yet to “A cathartic experience”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment